Association Staff
Directors


Michael W. Klein, JD, PhD
Chief Executive Officer
mwklein@njascu.org

Barbara Berreski, Esq.
Government & Legal Affairs
bberreski@njascu.org

Paul R. Shelly
Communications & Marketing
prshelly@njascu.org

Wendy A. Lang
Programs & Policy Initiatives
walang@njascu.org

Support Staff:

Patricia A. Stearman
Budget & Administration
pastearman@njascu.org

Charlene R. Pipher
Executive Assistant
crpipher@njascu.org

Theresa M. Toth
Secretary
tmtoth@njascu.org
Contact Info
New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities
150 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08608
Email: info@njascu.org

Phone: (609) 989-1100
Fax: (609) 989-7017

How New Jersey Measures Up

 
Demand and Capacity to Serve College-Bound Students
Net out-migration (loss) of high school graduates attending college 1st
Public four-year college/university enrollment (capacity) per capita (1,000 residents) 46th
Public four-year college/university capacity per 100 public high school graduates 48th
Number of institutions of higher education (59) 28th

Admissions Data for Eight Traditional Institutions
The eight are:  The College of New Jersey, Kean University, Montclair State University, New Jersey City University, Ramapo College of New Jersey, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, Rowan University and William Paterson University (combined). Thomas Edison State College is excluded because all of its students are part-time.
 
Number of applications for first-time, full-time freshman enrollment 61,081
Estimated number of applicants for first-time, full time freshman enrollment 25,000
Estimated number of openings for first-time, full-time freshman enrollment 11,000

State and Local Spending on Education
   
K-12 spending per pupil 3rd
Higher education spending per capita 31st
Higher education spending as percent of general spending 34th
Higher education spending per $1,000 personal income 42nd
Percentage increases in appropriations for higher education, FY 2008-FY 2013 21st

Tuition, Fees and Student Aid  
Average cost of tuition and fees charged to state residents attending four-year public colleges and universities as full-time undergraduates 3rd
Total grant aid awarded 10th
Need-based undergraduate grant dollars per undergraduate enrollment 1st

Productivity among public baccalaureate and master's institutions 3rd