Association Staff

Michael W. Klein, JD, PhD
Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Berreski, Esq.
Government & Legal Affairs

Paul R. Shelly
Communications & Marketing

Patricia A. Stearman
Budget & Administration

Support Staff:

Charlene R. Pipher
Executive Assistant

Pamela J. Hersh
Policy Research/Communications/
Government Relations Assistant
Contact Info
New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities
150 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08608

Phone: (609) 989-1100
Fax: (609) 989-7017


The New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities (NJASCU), based in Trenton, is a nonprofit higher education association serving New Jersey's nine state colleges and universities. The Association is a nongovernmental entity created by the State Legislature [NJSA 18A:64-45 et seq.] in 1985 to advance and support public higher education in New Jersey.

NJASCU's primary mission is to advocate higher education as a public good and the collective value of the state colleges/universities in serving the public interest and the State of New Jersey.

In fulfilling this purpose, NJASCU advises the executive and legislative branches of state government, and others on higher education policy. The Association achieves its mission by:

Articulating how the state colleges/universities serve the public good through educational, social, and economic and workforce development;

Providing research and information services to advance the policy and resource needs of the state colleges/universities;

Helping to inform the state's policy agenda and meeting state goals for educational attainment and a strong economy;

Enhancing, through collaborative efforts, the ability of the state colleges/universities to achieve effective institutional performance, autonomous governance and public accountability; and

Convening forums of diverse constituencies to develop a common opinion about the value of public investment in higher education and the contributions of the state colleges/universities.


The Association's vision is to serve as the principal information resource about college opportunity, policy affecting the value of New Jersey public higher education, and the contributions of the nine state colleges and universities.

The Association is governed by an eighteen-member board, consisting of a trustee and the president of each institution; the board meets four times annually. The presidents serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the board; trustee members are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of their respective local boards.

The Association staff is headed by an executive director/CEO. The Association meets four to six times annually. As with member colleges/universities, board members work actively in association permanent and ad hoc committees. Expenses are defrayed through institutional membership dues, in accordance with state law and Association bylaws, and occasionally through private gifts and grants.

NJASCU continues to be viewed widely by all branches of government, the media and all political parties as a respected source of reliable information about higher education and a primary source of innovative ideas for higher education-related policy reform that helps advance New Jersey's state agenda in the public interest.


NJASCU Membership 2013-2014
The College of New Jersey (Ewing)
R. Barbara Gitenstein, President 
Robert A. Altman, Trustee
Richard Stockton College (Pomona)
Herman J. Saatkamp, President
Emma Byrne, Trustee
Kean University (Union)
Dawood Farahi, President
Lamont Repollet, Trustee
Rowan University (Glassboro)
Ali Houshmand, President
Linda Rohrer, Trustee
Montclair State University (Montclair)
Susan A. Cole, President
Rose C. Cali, Trustee
Thomas Edison State College (Trenton)
George A. Pruitt, President
Fred J. Abbate, Trustee (Secretary)
New Jersey City University (Jersey City)
Susan Henderson, President
Henry A. Coleman, Trustee (Imm. Past Chair)
William Paterson University (Wayne)
Kathleen Waldron, President (Presidents' Chair)
Frederick Gruel, Trustee (Chair)
Ramapo College of New Jersey (Mahwah)
Peter Philip Mercer, President
Adam J. Sabath, Trustee (Vice Chair)

ASCU Staff

Barbara Berreski - Director of Government & Legal Affairs

Paul R. Shelly - Director of Communications & Marketing

Wendy A. Lang - Director of Programs & Policy Initiatives

Patricia A. Stearman - Director of Budget & Administration

Charlene R. Pipher - Executive Assistant

Theresa M. Toth - Secretary