Association Staff
Directors


Michael W. Klein, JD, PhD
Chief Executive Officer
mwklein@njascu.org

Barbara Berreski, Esq.
Government & Legal Affairs
bberreski@njascu.org

Paul R. Shelly
Communications & Marketing
prshelly@njascu.org

Wendy A. Lang
Programs & Policy Initiatives
walang@njascu.org

Support Staff:

Patricia A. Stearman
Budget & Administration
pastearman@njascu.org

Charlene R. Pipher
Executive Assistant
crpipher@njascu.org

Theresa M. Toth
Secretary
tmtoth@njascu.org
Contact Info
New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities
150 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08608
Email: info@njascu.org

Phone: (609) 989-1100
Fax: (609) 989-7017

NJ Higher Education Fast Facts

 
Student Population
 
Total students, Fall 2012 107,964
Total undergraduate students, Fall 2012 93,844
Students residing on campus, Fall 2012 22,302
Total graduate and professional students, Fall 2012 14,120
Total undergraduate students (full/part-time) by race/ethnicity/origin* Fall 2008:  
  White (Caucasian) 55%  
  Hispanic 16%  
  Black (African-American) 12%  
  Asian/Pacific Islander 6%  
  Native American 0.2%  
  Race Unspecified 8%  
  Foreign 1.1%  
  Two or more races (new category) 1.7%  
* (The Association acknowledges that these categories overlap and that many students do not identify themselves as being of a single racial or ethnic group.
Total undergraduate student population by gender, Fall 2012:
  Women 55%
  Men 45%

Academic Awards  
Total degrees awarded, Academic Year 2011-2012:
Bachelor's (about 45% of state's total) 18,511  
Master's 3,735  
Associate's 677  
Doctoral 71  

Alumni:    
Estimated state college alumni   558,413
(Figure double-counts individuals who got degrees from more than one state college/university)
Estimated alumni known to reside in New Jersey   412,480
(Actual figure may be significantly higher.)

Faculty & Staff    
Total full-time faculty at eight traditional institutions (Academic Year 11-12) 2,778
Number of employees (combined full/part-time, excluding adjuncts) 9,769

Finances  
FY 2012 Estimated aggregate general obligations budgets $1,666,883,000
(excluding state-paid employee benefits)  
FY 2012 Aggregate direct state adjusted appropriations $252,174,000
(excludes state-paid employee benefits  
State grants/scholarships received FY 2012* $84,616,504
NJCLASS Program loans made to state college/university students, FY 2012* $43,958,104
   
*Sources: NJ Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA); Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF)