Association Staff
Directors

Michael W. Klein, JD, PhD

Chief Executive Officer
mwklein@njascu.org

Barbara Berreski, Esq.
Government & Legal Affairs
bberreski@njascu.org

Paul R. Shelly
Communications & Marketing
prshelly@njascu.org

Wendy A. Lang
Programs & Policy Initiatives
walang@njascu.org

Support Staff:

Patricia A. Stearman
Budget & Administration
pastearman@njascu.org

Charlene R. Pipher
Executive Assistant
crpipher@njascu.org

Theresa M. Toth
Secretary
tmtoth@njascu.org
Contact Info
New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities
150 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08608
Email: info@njascu.org

Phone: (609) 989-1100
Fax: (609) 989-7017

2012 Higher Education Facilities Bond

 

NJASCU Statement on Voter Approval of the
Building Our Future Bond Issue
 

Voter approval* of the Building Our Future Bond referendum is a multi-faceted and far-ranging win for New Jersey -- students, employers, the construction and trade industries, and New Jersey's ability to compete in a knowledge-based economy. 

The bond issue will help our institutions build their highest priority needs -- many relate directly to the STEM fields and preparation for professions crucial to the future of New Jersey.

The bond will also help make our institutions more affordable and accessible. We will also be able to retain more of our homegrown talent. We lose over 35,000 students a year to colleges in other states, which costs the state economy billions of dollars per year and the loss of much of our investment in young people. It is important for the public to know that 90% of students at institutions that will benefit from the bond issue are from the Garden State.

We are deeply grateful to the voters of New Jersey who came out in considerable numbers to cast their vote -- some at great personal inconvenience.

We appreciate the support of our coalition partners -- business, industry, and labor -- as well as the support of many New Jersey opinion leaders.

We look forward to informing the public on progress made over the months ahead as the institutions begin building facilities to serve the needs of tens of thousands of students from New Jersey and the priority needs of the state.

* At the time of this statement, 62.8% of the electorate had voted in favor of the bond issue. 

 

News Stories/Op-Ed Articles on 2012 Higher Education Facilities Bond

 

Campus Bond Referendum Updates

Montclair State University

Richard Stockton College of New Jersey

William Paterson University